blueberry and rhubarb porridge

I have porridge nearly every morning so thought it was about time I put a recipe on the blog. It is my favourite to have porridge with rhubarb as we have always grown it in the garden. If you don’t grow it, it is always at the farmers market or at the grocers. The variety we grow has a green stalk and cooks up to a green colour as well. Once you get used to the colour the taste and sweetness is much better. The bunch for this recipe I bought at Banana Joe’s as our two plants have died off for the winter.

porridge

porridge with blueberries and rhubarb

Porridge

I always make very plain porridge as I eat it every day and don’t have time to stuff around with all that fancy stuff. But today I was up at the river house and the blueberry bushes that I planted at the end of summer are in full flower so I was inspired to make an effort.

The first thing I do is boil the jug then pour boiled water over the oats until they are just covered. I use a mixture of whole Rolled Oats, plus the Macro rolled five grains Rolled Oats, Rolled Triticale, Rolled Barley, Rolled Rye, Rolled Rice.

 

Ingredients

2/3 cup Rolled Oats
1/3 cup five grain mix
1 cup of boiled water
1 cup of rice milk plus extra milk to serve
pinch of salt
1/2 blueberries fresh of frozen
* if this is too plain add
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

cook all ingredients on a medium heat until porridge is the consistency that you like. I like my porridge dry so add more milk if you like it wet. Add blueberries at the last minute just to heat through as stirring will make everything blue.

Serve with extra milk and rhubarb. I don’t need to add any sugar if I have rhubarb which is good.

rhubarb

1 bunch of rhubarb
1/8 cup raw sugar
2 tablespoons water
pinch of citric acid
clean and top and tail the stalks. Remove the string down the sides if it peels away.
cut into even pieces and cook in saucepan on a medium heat. Will need constant stirring until rhubarb starts to dissolve. Cooking time about 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

